Running Goodies–StrideBox Review


Last month I won a contest with #Runchat that earned me a free two-month membership to StrideBox. If you haven’t heard about StrideBox, it’s a monthly subscription program where for less than $15 a month you get a decent-sized box in the mail every month jam-packed with all sorts of new treats and gear for runners. It’s a great way to try new things without the commitment.

A couple of weeks ago I got my first box and I immediately opened it up. (Can I just say how much I love how the box says “Just Keep Running”–that’s my mantra towards the end of my long runs.)

A box full of running goodies? Yes, please!

A box full of running goodies? Yes, please!

Every box comes with “The Stride Guide” which describes the contents:

Given Brand – Original FLIP Pocket Wrist Wallet 
Perfect to hold cash, an ID, house/hotel key, or an energy gel. One size fits most. Wear on wrist, forearm, or upper arm. (Retail $10.95)

PowerICE – Frozen, Hydrating Ice Bar with Electrolytes
Freeze and consume 15-30 minutes before exercise. (Retail $8.99/6 ice bars)

Picky Bar – Gluten Free, Dairy Free Energy Bar
A great tasting, allergy sensitive energy bar designed by athletes. Consume one hour before or 30 minutes after training for best results (Retail $22.99/10 bars)

Click Espresso Protein Drink – Mocha
Add to 12-14 ounces of water and mix. Enjoy hot or cold. (Retail $2.95/packet)

Kind Bar – Nuts & Spices – Dark Chocolate, Nuts, and Sea Salt
Healthy snack bar with 7g of fiber, 6g of protein, and only 5 g of sugar. Consume as a healthy, nutritious snack between runs, or any time. (Retail $1.99/bar)

Gu Energy Gel – Peanut Butter
100 calorie, easily digestible, long lasting energy gel. Consume 15 minutes before activity and every 45 minutes during. (Retail $11.60/8 gels)

Run Guard – Original Anti-Chafe Stick
Prevent chafing with high quality, natural ingredients. Apply before run where chafing occurs: Underarms, groin, toes, etc. (Retail $3.95/travel size)

Win High Performance Sport Detergent
Detergent formulated for synthetic, technical athletic gear. Add to load of synthetic apparel on warm, tumble low, or hang dry. (Retail $1.00/trial size)

So, as you can see, you get a lot for a little bit of money!

Not only was this Picky Bar delicious, I loved reading every inch of the wrapper!

Not only was this Picky Bar delicious, I loved reading every inch of the wrapper!

I have to admit that I haven’t been able to try everything yet. I’ve had the Picky Bar, and that was delicious! I definitely want to find those somewhere. I’m looking forward to trying the Kind Bar, but I have to wait until Easter, since I gave up chocolate for Lent…same with the Click protein shake (I’m thinking of saving that for after my half marathon next weekend).

The PowerICE bars are being saved for those warm days that I’ll want to consume something extremely cold before my runs (somehow running in 20* weather doesn’t make me want to consume ice). And I’m excited for the Run Guard because I’ve been needing to buy something to help for when I can start running in shorts again.

I am already looking forward to my April StrideBox. I’ll be able to do a better review, hopefully. And as I try the products in my boxes, I’ll be sure to share my review!

What would you like to see come in a box for runners?

One thought on “Running Goodies–StrideBox Review

Leave a Reply

