Making My Own Granola


Lately I’ve been really into trying new recipes, but more recently I’ve been trying to find some healthier snack foods I can make myself for M and I to enjoy without extra additives and to make them our own.

Enter Nicole and her granola recipes. I’m always a fan of granola, and after the big, late lunch M and I had Sunday, I knew we weren’t going to have a very big dinner. All I wanted was a bowl of Greek yogurt and granola. So I looked up Nicole’s granola recipes and was inspired by her Peanut Butter Coconut Cherry Granola, but made a few changes (due to some missing ingredients):

Peanutty Granola

1 cup old fashioned oats
2 tbsp peanut butter
1 tbsp maple syrup
Honey (to taste)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup peanuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries
Dash of cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 350* F. Prepare a baking sheet with foil sprayed with canola oil.
  2. Combine peanut butter and maple syrup in a small, microwave safe dish, and warm in the microwave until the peanut butter is softened and easier to combine.
  3. Once warmed, combine the peanut butter mixture with the oats, peanuts, honey, and vanilla extract in a small bowl. Add a dash of cinnamon to taste.
  4. Spread out the mixture on the prepared cookie sheet and bake for about 15-18 minutes. Remove from the oven, stir the mixture and add your cranberries, bake for 5 more minutes.
  5. Enjoy and store in air-tight container.
Toasted goodness!

Toasted goodness!

I enjoyed my homemade granola in a bowl of banana cream Oikos Greek Yogurt and a sliced banana for my dinner. It might not sound like much of a dinner, but it was exactly what I needed and was perfect.

Banana Yogurt Bowl with banana cream Oikos Greek Yogurt, sliced banana, and Peanutty Granola

Banana Yogurt Bowl with banana cream Oikos Greek Yogurt, sliced banana, and Peanutty Granola

I’m looking to try some different variations of this recipe–especially with coconut like Nicole likes to use!

What’s your favorite granola recipe?

2 thoughts on “Making My Own Granola

  1. Now I’m torn! I was going to make granola bars this week, but this granola recipe sounds good, too! I love granola with yogurt–it’s definitely a staple breakfast/lunch food of mine.

Leave a Reply

