Welcoming Spring


Sunday dawned bright and early. Well, actually I thought I only slept until almost 8 am (which is sleeping in for me), but thanks to Daylight Savings Time, it was actually almost 9 am. Whomp whom But still, it was nice to take our time getting up and moving.

Breakfast was simple for me: a bowl of cereal. And it was yummy. (I don’t have cereal very often because it doesn’t fill me up very well for normal days.) The pups and I then set out to clean up the yards outside: rake up the spiky balls in the front yard and pick up the dog poop in the back yard (yeah, that part was not so fun). The weather was gorgeous–sunny and warm!

M and I cleaned out the car and I played a little tennis ball with the girls. We then grabbed a couple bottles of water and packed up the dogs to head over to Keeneland Race Course. We took the dogs for a walk around the fields surrounding the Entertainment Center. It was nice to walk and talk while M told me about different things about Keeneland that I didn’t know about and that he’s learned during his first few weeks of his job. I knew a good amount about the association and racetrack because of my job and living in Lexington for the past six years, but he already knows more than me!

The best way to spend a Sunday in March--warm weather, sun, and a walk with the pups at Keeneland.

The best way to spend a Sunday in March–warm weather, sun, and a walk with the pups at Keeneland.

We played tennie with the girls and soaked in the warm weather. After about a mile and a half, we drove around the property (Keeneland’s a lot bigger than you really think).

Exhausted pups--it's hard to traverse tall, thick grass when your legs are only 4 inches long, says Dally.

Exhausted pups–it’s hard to traverse tall, thick grass when your legs are only 4 inches long, says Dally.

After lunch we came home and I set about washing my truck. I’ll be the first to admit, I have a love affair with my truck–it’s the first vehicle I picked out, test drove, and negotiated (and paid for) on my own. I’ve always driven a truck, first a GMC Sonoma, then a Dodge Quad Cab 4×4, and now a 4-door Dodge 4×4. Yes, there are times that I some times wish I wasn’t driving a big truck (like maybe when I’m forking out $80-90 at the gas station), but he’s (yes, my truck is a he, and his name is “Hoss”) is one of my prized possessions.

Of course the day after I get my truck all nice and shiny it's supposed to rain...

Of course the day after I get my truck all nice and shiny it’s supposed to rain…

The rest of the day meant a little cleaning (I’ll be gone for almost a week, who knows how the house will look when I come home from Oklahoma) and baking with a friend to prepare for Nationals.

Oh yeah, and I tried making granola for the first time, inspired by Nicole! Recipe to come later this week!

Leave a Reply

