Race Recap: Rail Runner 10-Miler


Today was a good day. For the first time on a Saturday (since I can remember), I was able to “sleep in” when my alarm went off at 7. I’ve been waking up extra early to get my runs done early, but this week I had a race that wasn’t starting until 9 (when I’m usually done).

Another good sign for the day–I didn’t have to double up on winter layers to run! I was able to wear my Nike Warm Gear capris, tech t-shirt, and a pullover with my ear warmers and be comfortable. Yay for sunshine and for Spring coming!

RJ Corman's buildings resembled the iconic Thoroughbred horse farms this area is known for. Yay for the sun already being up when I start my run!

RJ Corman’s buildings resembled the iconic Thoroughbred horse farms this area is known for. Yay for the sun already being up when I start my run!

I met up with some gals from the running group to get in some extra mileage before the race so I could keep up with high mileage for the Run the Bluegrass half marathon coming up in just three weeks now! I was able to get in 2.5 miles before the race, and then I tacked on 0.5 miles to the end of the race for a full 13 miles.

I started out extremely fast for the race! I wasn’t looking to set any records, since this was my first 10-mile race, I just wanted to try to finish strong. After a while, I started looking at my Garmin and noticed I was running a lot faster than the race pace I’m hoping to hold for the half marathon (9:40-9:50). There were times that I would try to make myself slow down my strides and just relax, but then when I’d have someone come up beside me, my darn competitive side would come out and I’d speed up again. I only walked a couple strides each time I grabbed something to drink (just three times) because I can’t drink from a cup and run at the same time. (Can anyone?) I still managed to end the race strong (I tried to kick it into one last gear for the last half mile), and I’m proud of my time.

Two cool things about having a race with a railroad company: The railroad crossing lights were blinking green and the starting horn was a train horn!

Two cool things about having a race with a railroad company: The railroad crossing lights were blinking green and the starting horn was a train horn!

Here are the splits:

“Warm-up” 2.5:
Mile 1 – 9:05
Mile 2 – 9:09
0.5 Nubbin – 4:43
Total – 2.5 miles in 22:57

Rail Runner 10-Miler:
Mile 1 – 9:30
Mile 2 – 9:14
Mile 3 – 9:22
Mile 4 – 9:35
Mile 5 – 9:30
Mile 6 – 9:39
Mile 7 – 9:43
Mile 8 – 9:44
Mile 9 – 9:53
Mile 10 – 9:46
0.5 Nubbin – 4:59
Total: 10.5 miles in 1:40:59

My official chip time was 1:36:56

The race was held on the grounds of the RJ Corman Railroad Company, and it was beautiful! They had lots of paved trails that we ran on, a beautiful creek running through the entire property, and plenty of green space. I’m not sure what all they do on this property, but I’d love to run there more! We even ran on their runway for miles 5-7, which was pretty cool (but not as easy as you’d think).

I met up with my friend, Nicole, who signed up earlier in the week when I talked her into it. This was her first race ever, and she did pretty awesomely, too! Hopefully she’s feeling more prepared for the Run the Bluegrass now!

It's always more fun to run in a race where you know some people! (Don't mind my squinting face!)

It’s always more fun to run in a race where you know some people! (Don’t mind my squinting face!)

After the race I had to rush home for a quick foam roll and shower and packed up the dogs to head to another session of training. Dally and I head to Nationals in just a few days, so I couldn’t pass up this chance. I wasn’t able to work Mesa like I’d like to–she’s way too fast when I have exhausted legs–but Dally gave me a few good runs. I do have to say, these double training sessions of long runs and then agility is very exhausting for me physically and mentally. Things will slow down after Nationals this week and the half marathon in a few weeks. Until then, I’m a slug on Saturdays (and a little cranky due to exhaustion and being sore), which I hate.

How do you manage busy, exhausting days?

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: Rail Runner 10-Miler

  1. I am feeling much more prepared for the half now, thank you for talking me into the 10 miler! It was so nice to meet up with someone more experienced with racing to get packets and information. I hope training with Dally went well today!

  2. Great job! Looks like a fun race, and you kept a great pace! And way to go adding on some extra miles to keep up with training…I would have said “10 miles? That’s all I need today” 🙂

Leave a Reply

