A Surprise Workout Partner


If there’s one thing completely different about myself and M, it’s our difference in drive in the gym. I love to work out. It’s hard for me to not go to the gym just about everyday. My husband, on the other hand, would rather not go to the gym. For a while, when we were first dating, he was working out on a regular schedule–he even ran his first 5K with me in 2010. But since then, he’s slacked off.

I know I have a very busy schedule, but I try to make time to workout, whether it’s waking up at 5 am and going for a run before work, or squeezing in a 30 minute HIIT workout between jobs, it’s a priority for me. M has a busy schedule as well. but he doesn’t try to squeeze in the time–it’s not a priority for him.

I have tried everything to encourage him to join me in the gym. I don’t mind working out by myself, but I enjoy working out with a friend. I love working with people, showing them new workouts and helping their form (that’s why I’d love to get my personal training certification). The few times M has joined me at the gym and we’ve traded circuits, I’ve enjoyed really myself. I try to do my best to have the best form and to push myself in front of him (maybe show off a little), but it pushes me a little more.

But lately, he hasn’t been making healthier living a priority in his life, which has been unfortunate and, quite frankly a little heart breaking for me. I’m very concerned about my family’s health (as you could read in one of my posts earlier this year). A couple of years ago M was diagnosed with pre-diabetes, but he knew he could change his fortune with healthier eating and more physical activity. So, he started being better about tracking what he ate and paying better attention to the nutrition value of his food…even working out again. But a busy schedule with work (he was working up to 50-60 hours a week, 6 days a week) got in the way of that healthier lifestyle again.

The negative thing about that is when something comes up, like police department physical tests, if you don’t have a solid base of physical fitness, it’s hard to make up for that when you’re trying to build up. So, you then have to commit yourself to a more intense workout schedule to try to do your best to lose weight and get in better condition in order to meet, or exceed, the minimum requirements.

So Wednesday night, as I was finishing my 5-mile run on the treadmill, I had made the comment to my friend that I wasn’t planning to come to the gym the next morning at 5:30 am because my legs were already tired. She agreed, and we went our separate ways. Then I got a text from M saying: “Tomorrow am we r getting our sweat on at 5 am! … I want to bust my butt and sweat my butt off…” How can you say no to that??

So my alarm went off at 5 this morning, and we ventured out together. I hit the elliptical for a 20 minute warm-up while he started his running training on the treadmill, then we hit the weights for an upper body circuit. Remarkably, I didn’t feel tired–I was pumped. I was working out with my best friend and he was actually enjoying it (at least I think he was, he wasn’t griping, so that has to be a good sign, right?). Before we knew it, it was time to head home so I could take a shower and get ready for my day. Oh yeah, and did I mention he works until midnight right now? So he woke up after a little less than 5 hours of sleep and still worked out with me–I was impressed and proud of him.

I’m hoping this trend continues. I don’t mind reworking my workout schedule if it means we’re both living a physically active, healthy life….together.

2 thoughts on “A Surprise Workout Partner

Leave a Reply

