Looking Ahead to a Crazy March


I’m so happy it’s March because I have a lot of things happening this month that I’ve been looking forward to (and getting nervous for). It’s going to be a crazy busy month for me, but I’m looking forward to every minute.

March 9 – Rail Runner 10 Miler  This will be my first 10-mile race and I’m looking forward to it. It’s being run on the grounds of a local railroad company. They’re having a 5K and the 10 mile race, and they’re opening up the 5K course early for those of us who have longer distances scheduled. I’m going to do my best to try to get there early enough to get in a run on the 5K course for my 3.1 miles before the start of the 10 mile race, that way I have another 13.1 training run complete.

March 13-18 – American Kennel Club National Agility Championships   Dally, my friend Merinda and her Cardigan Corgi Porter, and I will be headed West to Tulsa, Okla, for the National Agility Championships. I’m so excited because almost all of my agility friends qualified this year, so we’ll have two stalls together for crating and will be cheering each other one and hanging out. Plus, we’ll be competing in the same arena I won a world championship with my horse nine years ago, so I have lots of memories here. My good friend from college, Cassie, is coming from Oklahoma City to watch me and hang out, so I’ll finally get to meet her little girl, Emily! So much excitement in too short of days!

Dally and I competing at the AKC National Agility Championships in Reno in 2012.

Dally and I competing at the AKC National Agility Championships in Reno in 2012.

March 23-24 – Agility Trial   Just four days after getting back from Nationals, we head to an agility trial where I’ll be able to show LaMesa as well as Dally at one of our favorite locations. It’s always nice to show there.

March 30 – Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon  It’s going to be here before I know it! 13.1 miles of hills over some of the best scenery you could ever ask for! I’m still nervous about what I’ve heard is possibly the worst hill of the entire course (mile 9, which I didn’t see in my training run over the course a month ago), but I’m telling myself it’ll be alright to walk at the top of the hill–just get your booty up and over!

I'm excited to have one of these medals hanging around my neck after conquering 13.1 miles of hills!

I’m excited to have one of these medals hanging around my neck after conquering 13.1 miles of hills!

March 31 – Easter  Easter means I get to have chocolate again, and since I’ll be celebrating my conquering of the RtB, I’m already planning to celebrate with lots of Easter candy! M and I usually make little Easter baskets for each other, so I plan to have fun with it. We probably won’t be able to celebrate the holiday with family (which is a total bummer), but I’ll try to do something special for the two of us.

I'm more excited about Easter candy that I have been in a long time!

I’m more excited about Easter candy that I have been in a long time!

Do you have anything exciting happening in March?

Leave a Reply

