Recipe: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies


Happy Vallentine’s Day!! I’ve never been a big celebrator of the holiday, but it can be a fun day. I’m excited about making dinner tonight and M and I, so I’ll tell you about it later.

Also, LaMesa would like to wish everyone a Happy Vall-entine’s Day from the Vallhund (get it?)

Happy Vall-entine's Day!

Happy Vall-entine’s Day!

Looking for a healthy treat to make your sweetheart? Well, if they’re like me, they made the decision to give up chocolate for Lent (bad timing…Valentine’s Day shouldn’t be during Lent, because some of us give up sweets or chocolate), but this recipe doesn’t call for chocolate (though you could maybe add dark chocolate chips…) or any added sugar.

Earlier I told you about my Oatmeal Raisin Banana Cookies I made over the weekend. I also made a peanut butter cookie from a Dr. Oz recipe that was just as delicious.

I got my food processor for a bridal shower gift & it's taken me this long to use it! No bueno!

I got my food processor for a bridal shower gift & it’s taken me this long to use it! No bueno!

But first, I’d like to boast that I used my food processor for the first time making these cookies! (Yes, I’m a dork–I’ve been trying to find recipes that required me to use my FP.) I know I could have just used elbow grease, but in my experience with making a banana puree and then adding ingredients to it, some times the batter isn’t very smooth. So I wanted to use my FP to (a) try it out/play with it and (b) to see how smooth the batter could come out. It was a success! (Though with the oatmeal raisin cookies, I added the raisins and mixed those in by hand, for fear the blade would chop up the raisins!)

So now onto the Dr. Oz cookies:

PBOCookies

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

2 ripe bananas
1/3 cup peanut butter (or any nut butter would work, I’d think)
2 tbsp milk (I used skim)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp agave nectar (I used honey because I didn’t have any agave)
1 large egg
2 1/2 cups quick-cooking or rolled oats
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
Dash of cinnamon

  1. Preheat your oven to 350* F. Make your banana puree (either by smashing with a fork or by using a food processor like I did). 
  2. Next add the peanut butter, milk, vanilla, agave/honey, and egg. Add the oats, whole wheat flour, and cinnamon and mix until combined.
  3. Drop cookie dough by the spoonfuls onto a prepared cookie sheet. Bake for 14-16 minutes. Let the cookies cool for 5 minutes before removing from the sheet.

I felt like there needed to be some more flavor–maybe a touch more cinnamon, or more peanut butter? Maybe dark chocolate chips? But everyone else really liked them. I’ll let you be the judge.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pingback: Peanut butter oatmeal raisin cookies | Start to be Healthy Now

Leave a Reply

