Kicking Off Two New Challenges


Monday was all about kicking off two new challenges I’ve signed up for: healthysELF and FlexibleFebruary.

Remember how over the holidays I was doing #Elf4Health? Well, everyone who participated loved the camarderie and activities of the challenge and wanted to continue it, so Elle and Lindsay decided to extend the challenge for a longer time (I can’t remember exactly how long), with a new Facebook group and new hashtag–#healthysELF. If you are looking to get healthy and want a great support system, I urge you to try it (it’s free!).

Also this month, I’m participating in Clare’s challenge of #FlexibleFebruary, where we’re challenging ourselves to get in at least 60 minutes of stretching every week. I do a lot of stretching already, but it can’t hurt to do a little more. Again, this is a free challenge with some cool prizes.

So for the healthysELF challenge, we were to have a Meatless Monday. I started the day with a morning spinning class (first am spin class, and I loved it) and 10 minutes of stretching (in the Flexible February bank!). I ended up running late for work and didn’t have time to fix breakfast, but I grabbed a key lime Oikos Greek yogurt and had half a PowerThin protein bar at the office. Lunch time I needed some comfort food, so I fixed tomato soup and grilled cheese. But the best part was dinner.

I found a recipe on Pinterest that I just knew M would love, even though his comment about Meatless Monday was “Are you trying to kill me?” But this recipe bowled him over and he’s set for more meatless meals, I think!

I found this recipe for Stacked Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas and bought most of the items Sunday at the grocery, but forgot the spinach and cauliflower. I ended up just buying a bag of cauliflower already cut up because it was simpler and much less expensive than a head (shocked at the price!). I changed the recipe up a little bit, so here’s my version:

Veggies1

Roasted Veggie Stacked Enchiladas

1 yellow bell pepper
1 red bell pepper
2 cups’ worth cauliflower cut up
1 small sweet potato peeled and diced into 1″ cubes
1 cup corn kernels (you can use fresh, frozen, or even canned)
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin (I think I might have done more than that, I didn’t measure)
2 garlic cloves, minced
Salt & pepper
Chopped onions (M doesn’t like whole onions)
2 cups baby spinach leaves (two big handfuls)
Salsa
Whole wheat tortillas (I only needed 2)
Shredded cheddar cheese, or Mexican mix
Cilantro (only if you like it, we don’t, so I didn’t use it)
Plain Greek yogurt for garnish

  1. Preheat oven to 425* F and prep a shallow baking pan with nonstick spray.
  2. Cut up your veggies: peppers into matchsticks, cauliflower, sweet potato, and place on cookie sheet with the corn. Drizzle olive oil on the veggies, then sprinkle minced garlic, cumin, chopped onions, salt and pepper, over the veggies. Use your hand to mix them around until coated. Spread out on the sheet.
  3. Roast your veggies for 30-40 minutes, stirring them up every 10 minutes. Veggies are done when they are tender and starting to brown in some places. Remove from the oven and set aside.
  4. Turn the oven down to 350* F. Prepare an 8x8x2 (or 9x9x2) square baking pan with nonstick spray.
  5. (If you like cilantro, dice up some and mix it in about 2 cups of salsa.) Spread some of the salsa on the bottom of the pan (just a thin layer). Add a layer of tortilla (I ripped mine into three pieces that fit perfectly in the pan)., followed by half the roasted veggies, a layer of spinach, and a layer of cheese. The second layer will be: tortilla, salsa, veggies, spinach, and cheese (use up the remainder of the salsa and veggies in this layer).
  6. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake for another 5-10 minutes, until the cheese is melted and everything is heated throughout.
  7. When you’re serving it, you can top it with some plain Greek yogurt for a little bit of tang. (I did and loved it!)
The whole family helped in prepping the veggies for dinner!

The whole family helped in prepping the veggies for dinner!

At first M was skeptical with the “odd combination” of vegetables, but one bite and he was hooked. The sweet potato gives the mix a little bit of sweetness to counterbalance the spices.

This is definitely going to be one of our favorite meals. I served it with leftover cornbread from Sunday’s chili and some pears.

What is your favorite Meatless Monday meal?

One thought on “Kicking Off Two New Challenges

Leave a Reply

