OMG My Husband Baked: Healthy Banana Cookies


Over the weekend my husband and a friend decided they were going to create a healthy meal for me and another friend. Apparently John has been bitten by the health bug after a doctor visit, so I’m hoping he’ll infect M. (Hey, if I can’t do it, maybe he can!)

So John was in charge of the main meal and M the desert. I found M flipping through AllRecipes.com for healthy cookie recipes and he happened upon a banana cookie recipe. He read over the ingredients to me, and when he mentioned the 1/3 cup vegetable oil, I was pretty surprised that this “healthy” recipe called for so much oil. I recommended he give unsweetened applesauce a try (which we already had) and we made a few changes to make the recipe our own.

This is a sight you don't see everyday in my kitchen...sexy!

This is a sight you don’t see everyday in my kitchen…sexy!

If you see the original recipe, it called for pitted dates–I don’t have much experience with dates, but we decided to do without them. M went off to the grocery to buy the ingredients he wanted for the cookies, then set about creating his new, healthy, masterpiece.

M’s Healthy Banana Cookies

5 ripened bananas
2 cups rolled oats
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 small packed slivered almonds
1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
Cinnamon to taste

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2.) In a large bowl, mash the bananas (tip: squish them up while still in the peel, then unpeel and squish into the bowl), and combine all the ingredients. Let the mixture sit for about 10 minutes or so.
3.) Use a tablespoon and drop onto an ungreased cookie sheet (the mixture does not spread, so you can place them close together to fit more if you’d like).
4.) Bake 15-20 minutes, until the bottoms are golden brown.

Letting the mixture sit, complete with dark chocolate chips--yum!

Letting the mixture sit, complete with dark chocolate chips–yum!

The texture is chewy, with the right amount of melty dark chocolate goodness (the chocolate chips were a last minute addition, as I had a little bit left in a bag). Next time we’ll probably try walnuts instead of almonds, and maybe cranberries or even give the dates a try.

The aren't the prettiest cookies, but they smell good and taste yummy.

The aren’t the prettiest cookies, but they smell good and taste yummy.

I’m excited to see what he’ll come up with next…I like the domestic side of him!

7 thoughts on “OMG My Husband Baked: Healthy Banana Cookies

  1. Pingback: Yummy Eats — New Recipes I’ve Tried Lately | Planetmarsz

Leave a Reply

