7 Scenic Miles


Yesterday morning I woke up early and drove to Midway to run with a running group for the first time. I discovered the LexRunLadies via Twitter. I had been thinking about joining a running group to help my training for upcoming half marathons. I’ve been getting bored with running, and I have been hoping that a change of scenery and a change of company might help things.

The weather was perfect running weather that you wouldn’t think you’d have for mid-January–60s and sunny. I could not believe that I was running in capris and a t-shirt!

This was the beautiful sunrise that greeted me in Midway before our run.

This was the beautiful sunrise that greeted me in Midway before our run.

We met in downtown Midway, Ky., (if you’re planning to visit Central Kentucky, I definitely recommend spending a day here) and decided which way to tackle the Iron Horse Half Marathon course (a race run in October). We then hit the road (after what I’ve heard is the customary group photo), with everyone running their pace and their distance. I went there with the goal of running 6-7 miles and judge how my legs felt on the rolling hills.

The LexRunLadies group for Saturday in Midway

The LexRunLadies group for Saturday in Midway

I started out running with a couple of people for the first two miles, but then found myself pulling away and running on my own in the middle of the lead pack. That was OK, though…I brought along my headphones and had them plugged into my IPhone so I had a little music. The scenery was beautiful, even with the fog and cloudy skies–Thoroughbred yearlings were out in the pastures feeling good. They’d inquisitively watch us for a while, then take off running, as if to show off their legs and speed. (I wish I had stopped to take photos of the yearlings running, but maybe next time!)

Once I noticed that I was at 3 miles, I saw the railroad tracks ahead of me, so I decided to push it up the last hill and run to the tracks before I turned around. That was perfect because it was 3.5 miles, so running back would make it a 7 mile run!

I felt pretty good throughout the run–my foot wasn’t bothering me and my IT band didn’t start bothering me until towards the end of my run (I couldn’t find my strap before I ran). My legs felt strong going up the hills.

When I finished, steam was coming off of me, but I felt great!

Total: 7.14 miles in 1:08:50
Mile 1 – 10:06
Mile 2 – 10:11
Mile 3 – 9:48
Mile 4 – 9:31
Mile 5 – 9:31
Mile 6 – 9:25
Mile 7 – 9:10

Afterwards some of the ladies and I headed to the Midway School Bakery to treat ourselves (you could smell the donuts as you ran back into town). I’ve had some of their stuff before at a local restaurant, but never been in the bakery. They had delicious items on the menu, but I was good and got the “Betty Ann Scone” (which was slightly sweet with apricots, dried cranberries, and white chocolate chips) and a sweet potato muffin for M and I to split when I got home. Both were heavenly!

So with this successful run, I think I’m going to take the leap and register for the Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon this week. I was lucky to get a $25-off coupon for it, so why not register when it’ll only cost me $40 now?

Thanks to the LexRunLadies for being a fun group open to new people!

How were your weekend runs?

3 thoughts on “7 Scenic Miles

  1. Pingback: Running the Bluegrass | Planetmarsz

Leave a Reply

