Product Review: Chia & Fruit Clusters


Whenever I pop into a grocery store I tend to stop by the “health food” section to check out what deals they have on new and healthy treats. You always hear that eating healthy can be expensive, and when you’re looking at flax seed, chia seeds, soy bars, etc., those definitely are expensive.

I happened upon a new Dole product, from a line I’m assuming they’re starting up called NutritionPlus. Beside the granola there were bags of new Chia & Fruit Clusters. I’ve been wanting to try things with chia seeds, so I was intrigued.

Dole Nutrition Plus: Chia & Fruit Clusters

Dole Nutrition Plus: Chia & Fruit Clusters

I picked up a bag of the mixed berry flavor and read the stats: one serving size (12 clusters about the size of an inch in diameter) equals 120 calories, 22g of carbs, 4g dietary fiber, 2g protein, and 8g of sugar.

So why are chia seeds all the rage these days? They say they provide two times the omega-3s than walnuts, 26% more protein than an egg, three times more fiber than oatmeal. I’ve seen other bloggers add chia seeds to their morning yogurt and smoothies, which is what I’d like to do.

Since the bag was on sale (50 cents off, but still a bit of a cost considering there’s an estimated four servings a bag), I grabbed a bag to give it a try for my mid-morning snack.

The result? They’re pretty good. Tuesday I had 12 clusters after my clementine. They were nice little clusters to be able to grab one at a time and munch slowly while reading articles. They aren’t very sweet, which is fine–I’m trying to watch my sugar intake lately.

They also come in cranberry apple and tropical fruit–both flavors that I’d love to try.

So I think these would make nice little snacks, but if you’re watching your budget, there’s probably a recipe out there where you can make your own. (And when I find that recipe and try it, I’ll be sure to post it on here.)

Give them a try, then let me know what you think!

7 thoughts on “Product Review: Chia & Fruit Clusters

  1. Chuck bought Chia seeds after we heard about them on a documentary. He’s been adding them to his juiced veggies. They were expensive though. They were like $11/lbs in the bulk section of Whole Foods. Those clusters sound good though. I definitely think there’s a way to make them on your own.

  2. Pingback: Snack of the Day | Wholistic Health | Holistic Health | Lose Weight | Fast Weight Loss | Weightloss | Lose That Fat Body | Quick Weight Loss | Fast Fitness | Easy Fitness | Get Fit Fast I Love Your Body I Easy Healthy Eats

  3. Dole was giving these out at an event yesterday, I absolutely love them! I couldnt stop with the bag. Thank GOD they are healthy šŸ™‚

  4. They are pricey at stores but I just found some at big lots for 2.50 and I grabbed like 10 bags because who knows when I’ll ever find them this cheap.

Leave a Reply

