Being the Biggest Loser–More of a Lifestyle, Not an Exercise


Sunday was the premiere of the 14th season of The Biggest Loser. I love this show–ever since M and I started dating, this has been the one show that we always make sure we watch together. It’s just so gosh-darn inspirational! I may not be as heavy as the contestants, but when you see people of their size do the exercises and be successful, you say to yourself “If they can do it, so can I!”

And it’s been inspirational for M, as well. The start of “The Biggest Loser” always seems to be the start of him being inspired to join me at the gym. I’m hoping that this year he sticks with it, though. I promise this time I won’t try to channel my inner Jillian… 😉

With this being the new year, of course you see lots of options for weight loss at the stores, online, and on the television. Many options promising quick results, but not many offer lifetime results. What’s going to show lifetime results is a change in your lifestyle–eating better and working out harder.

There’s no denying that my family all has problems with our weight. My brother-in-law has done many different diets to lose the weight–last year he lost close to 100 pounds just watching what he ate and starting to workout. My sister lost 50 pounds (even after two knee surgeries) in a year and is still working to lose more. And then there’s me–I lost about 25 pounds a couple years ago and it’s always been an up and down battle with 5-7 pounds. Right now, it’s up, but I’m going to work it back down and hopefully a little lower this year.

A healthy family is all I want for the new year.

A healthy family is all I want for the new year.

Over Christmas my mom, who suffers from so many ailments, including fibromyalgia, announced she will be having bariatric surgery in the next couple of months. While it was a bit of a shock, I’m hopeful that this will be the turning point for my mom, and my father’s, health. This surgery will make my parents change their diets and ways of eating, which is good. And I’m hoping that this surgery will help my mom regain better movement to be able to start walking better. And hopefully this surgery will help alleviate the pain from the fibromyalgia so she can live and enjoy life again, which means our family can live and enjoy life as they venture into their 40th year of marriage.

Though I do have a little concern over the surgery. I hope her doctor(s) will lay out very strict guidelines for before, and after, and maintenance that mom will follow. I’m going to try to learn more about the specific surgery she’s having, and when I learn more I hope to share it with you.

What have you done to make your lifestyle healthier? Do you have experience with bariatric surgery?

One thought on “Being the Biggest Loser–More of a Lifestyle, Not an Exercise

  1. A very wise statement: ” What’s going to show lifetime results is a change in your lifestyle–eating better and working out harder.” That is exactly the truth. We look for quick solutions to our health problems, but what’s really needed is increasing our food and nutrition knowledge (or working with someone who can help in that regard), and making positive and healthy lifestyle changes.

    I hate the word “diet”, as it assumes a beginning and an end. What happens at the end of the diet? Do you go back to how you did eat, thus making your hard work go down the drain? Just say no to diets, and yes to lifestyle changes!

Leave a Reply

