A Peaceful Winter Weekend


This weekend was the kind of weekend that you need during the winter some times.

While we were sleeping Friday night, it snowed about 2 inches. Yay! I was supposed to go on my first training group run Saturday morning, but it was cancelled, so I met a running/agility buddy at the gym and got in a little more than 4 solid miles on the treadmill, rather than worry about the slick roads and slush. I stopped by our favorite local coffee shop and bought M and I are favorite drinks (him–camp fire cocoa, me–turtle-dove chai) and woke M up with his drink.

Later that morning M and I bundled up and shoveled the driveway and sidewalk, including our elderly neighbor’s driveway and sidewalk. While M was doing more of the heavy stuff (hey, I had just run 4 miles!) the pups and I made a small snowman:

Our little snowman--it's been a long while since I made one, but at least I found a use for those darn "spiky balls" our tree tends to drop everywhere!

Our little snowman–it’s been a long while since I made one, but at least I found a use for those darn “spiky balls” our tree tends to drop everywhere!

Afterwards I drove out a friend’s place to train the dogs over some drills for agility with my other dog agility friends. We felt pretty lucky that even though there was 2-3 inches of snow on the ground, upper 20s, and still snowing, we were able to get in an hour of training with the dogs because of our friend’s indoor agility ring with soccer field turf. I’m going to have to remember to take some photos of the place to share with you–we really are lucky! I was working LaMesa in preparation for a seminar we’re going to this coming weekend, and Dally was getting the rust knocked off for upcoming trials and Nationals in March.

Saturday night M and I headed out to dinner using a gift card we got for Christmas (grilled salmon at Texas Roadhouse–yum!) and went to see “This Is 40” at the movie theater. “This Is 40” is a great movie–very funny! I totally recommend it.

Today was about being lazy, with a chuck roast in the slow cooker and the Colts game on the television. The Colts won, which is awesome since it was Chuck Pagano’s first game back since he overcame leukemia–it’s been a great year overall to be from Indianapolis and be a (lifelong) Colts fan! No one saw them going to the playoffs, let alone finishing the season 11-5, so this is just icing on the cake!

I hope your weekend was a good one!

 

Leave a Reply

