Snow in Indiana = Peaceful Eve of Christmas Eve Horseback Ride


Merry Christmas, everyone! I hope you are able to celebrate the holidays with your loved ones. M and I arrived at my parents’ Friday evening and have been relaxing, and baking.

Indiana got more snow than we did in Kentucky, so it’s really gotten me into the Christmas spirit–it’s funny how some times you’re just missing one little piece like snow. But it’s also weird to think that just a week ago I was able to run in capris and short sleeves with no worries.

To celebrate the snow, I hopped onto Lark, my most favorite horse (when we bred her mom, my parents said the foal would be mine…that was 20 years ago and we’ve grown up together) bareback and rode around the farm in the snow. There’s something about the peacefulness of the winter–it seems so calm and quiet.

Riding horses in the snow = peaceful.

Riding horses in the snow = peaceful.

And then there’s something about the sound of hooves going moving through the snow. It’s a muffled sound…a little hard to explain, but it’s still something that just makes you smile.

If you’ve never felt the freedom and happiness that comes with riding horses, I’m sorry. It’s a feeling I wish everyone could feel at least once in their lives. When I’m on my horses, I’m a totally different person–my cares expire and my heart expands with love. I can’t imagine life without that wonder now. I can tell when I just need to go for a ride because I start to feel frustrated with life and everything else.

I thought it’d be fun to try to do a video to show you what it’s like to lope around in the snow on Lark:

With that, I wish you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

