C is for Cookie!


I love baking. Some people don’t believe me because I rarely bake. That’s because then I eat what I baked, which isn’t good when you’re trying to watch what you’re eating and trying to lose weight. Most times when I bake, I try to take most of the goodies to work to share with everyone, that way the temptation is away from me and my husband.

Christmas is the best time to bake. Short on the cash, but long on the gift list? Try some baked goods! And they don’t have to be just cookies and candy, but maybe breads, or even just put together kits for friends.

This year I’ve branched out on a lot of different recipes and I have yet to find a recipe I haven’t liked!

Apple Cider Snicker Doodles – These cookies sounded so good, and I was lucky enough to have some hot cider mix in the house thanks to our cider/hot chocolate bar at our wedding. I was able to make them into small little balls to extend the recipe, which was perfect for the little cookie bags I made for my Small Dog Posse. I ended up running out of granulated sugar before I had to roll the cookies, so I used a little brown sugar. They still turned out great!

Pumpkin Spice Cookies – OK, so I cheated a little on these and used a mix. But that’s because I went to try to make the Pumpkin Spice Snicker Doodles, but I didn’t have any pumpkin in the house (fail), and I needed another type of cookie, so I used this mix. They were still pretty darn delicious! (I topped them with pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and nutmeg). I recommend giving them a try if pressed for time!

Candy Cane Crinkles – I just made these Sunday, and OMG I think these are my favorites so far! I found this recipe on Pinterest and I’m so happy I did. I made these to give to co-workers for Christmas, and I already know I’m going to have to make a second batch. I haven’t attempted to do anything different with this recipe yet, but if I do, I’ll let you know. Definitely give these a try this holiday season. (Come on…what else are you going to do with all of those candy canes after Christmas??)

The best cookies of 2012? I'm probably going to have to say these Candy Cane Crinkles!

The best cookies of 2012? I’m probably going to have to say these Candy Cane Crinkles!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies – Another recipe from Pinterest, only this one is healthy! It incorporates plain Greek yogurt, oatmeal, and dark chocolate chips. I changed up the recipe to use whole wheat flour, and it’s delicious! I’ve had many friends enjoy them, and then are surprised when I tell them what all I use to bake them. (Another bonus–I am trying to like dark chocolate, so these are a great introduction!)

Andes Mint Cookies – Pressed for time? How much easier can you get by using a box of devils food chocolate cake mix, eggs, oil, and some Andes mints?? Now, granted, it might not be as healthy as the chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, but we’re allowed to splurge every now and then, right? (Note: I’m going to attempt to try to not use oil next time I make these, so I’ll report back if it’s a success.) The best part of these cookies is that when you take them out of the oven, you place an Andes mint on top. Allow to melt, and use a butter knife to spread it around–easy, yummy, icing! (These would be good for “cookie kits”.)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Brownies – For something a little different from cookies, I definitely recommend these brownies. They’re pretty easy to make, and surprisingly, I was able to get all of my friends to try them and actually really like them. Trust me…pumpkin and chocolate (again, I used dark chocolate chips) are a good thing!

So there are a couple of recipes I encourage you to try this holiday season! There are others that I always love making, such as Tollhouse Cookies and spritz cookies (those are possibly my favorite Christmas cookie I have to say), but these were flavors out of left-field that are sure to excite your friends and family.

 

4 thoughts on “C is for Cookie!

  1. Pingback: Black Forest Cookies | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Double Chocolate Oatmeal Sandwiches | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

