Six Miles in 56-Degree Weather…in December


Sunday dawned cloudy and mild. I missed out on a long run Saturday with a friend, so I decided I needed to buck it up and try for six miles on my own. It’s been since July that I’ve run more than five miles, but I chose a route that I knew was six miles anyway because I told myself I wasn’t going to push it–if I needed to walk, I can walk. I’m not officially training for anything yet, but why not stretch the legs and see if I’ve still got it.

The run felt great! I ended up only walking when I had to stop at street crossings–not bad! I ended up running 6.5 miles in 1 hour 1 minute and 51 seconds (9:52 mile average). I was pretty surprised because I didn’t feel any stress on my legs and my breathing was relaxed. Maybe I’m not in as bad of shape as I thought?

These berries are a pain in the butt to walk or run in (though LaMesa seems to think they're tasty).

These berries are a pain in the butt to walk or run in (though LaMesa seems to think they’re tasty).

Of course, I had to battle running over these little berry-type things that have fallen from the trees all around here. I have no idea what these things are, but they coat the sidewalks, which means they get all in your shoes’ tread, which can be tracked into the house (and such a pain to clean up). They were a little slick to run on, but not too bad. Does anyone have any idea what these are?

After the run, I cooled off with a short walk with the dogs, then showered, stretched, and foam rolled. I rested a little bit before heading to go work the dogs in agility with some friends. Afterwards we walked around the farm that we train at for a couple of miles.

It was during that walk that I started to feel some discomfort and pain in my right foot. We walked about two miles, and the farther we walked, the worse the pain felt. It starts at the outside of my right foot and goes up around the ankle.

Earlier this year, while training for my half marathon, I was diagnosed with tendonitis in my right foot. It’s been managed with the use of Powersteps insoles and hasn’t bothered me much. I’m not sure if it’s the tendonitis, or maybe from a little collision LaMesa and I had while I was running a course with her this afternoon. Or, if it’s because my shoes are almost a year old. (I know, I know…they needed to be changed months…miles ago….but running shoes can be expensive, and I’ve had to choose between paying a bill and buying shoes–the bill wins out every time.)

Really hate when I have to be in this position. (Don't mind our old couch style--most of our house is still borrowed/hand-me-down furniture!).

Really hate when I have to be in this position. (Don’t mind our old couch style–most of our house is still borrowed/hand-me-down furniture!).

Either way, I’m not sidelined with ice wrapped around my elevated foot–it only hurts when I try to walk on it.

So much for squeezing in a few runs before Christmas, and now I’m not so sure I’ll be able to do the New Year’s 5 Miler I was going to sign-up for this week. I’m going to give it a day or so and see how it feels before I go to the doctor. A friend said she hoped it wasn’t a stress fracture, and I shuddered at that word. This is not how I saw my weekend wrapping up.

Thinking positive thoughts…

Leave a Reply

