Random Acts of Kindness


Today’s #Elf4Health challenge was to buy the person behind you at the coffee shop their cup of coffee, or another random act of kindness (RAOK). It’s been great reading everyone’s tales of their RAOK–totally warms you heart! Due to lack of funds, I wasn’t able to do this challenge today, but am definitely going to tomorrow (pay-day!). However, I did get a card for a coworker who had to pur her dog down (she telecommutes, so she’s not in the office with us) to have everyone sign and send, but I would have done that no matter what the challenge day.

My parents did a sweet thing for a neighbor this week when they heard the family (mother is having issues with the father) wouldn’t be able to afford a Christmas tree this year. My mom read on Facebook how upset the kids were, and knowing how hard the mother and two teenagers (one in high school and one in college) had been working just to afford the basics, she wanted to help. My dad’s always been one to celebrate Christmas, so he decided he’d go out and buy a tree for the family. (My mom suggested they give the family their old artificial tree, since my dad bought a new one for the first time in 30 years, but dad had already given that to Goodwill.) My dad enjoyed shopping for a nice real tree, then left it on the front steps of the family’s house, like Santa’s helper. I love my parents.

It doesn’t have to be grand gestures like buying Christmas trees, but even the little things can make a difference. Even things like being patient at an intersection and allowing someone through can change the direction of their day. We shouldn’t have to have a daily challenge or a special day (I believe there is such as a National Random Acts of Kindness Day) to do the little things to make someone’s day better. It should always be in the back of your mind to try to make someone’s day a little brighter…even if it is a small smile.

Leave a Reply

