Sleeplessness = Exhaustion at Work


Last night, for a plethora of reasons, I barely slept. I’m talking went to bed at 11, by 1 am I was still wide awake…after that I stopped staring at the clock. (I even got out a notebook and wrote down two pages worth of thoughts that had been streaming through my head the last few nights, hoping it would help me relax and sleep and feel better about things, but it didn’t.)

I was wide awake at 4:30. I had to be awake at 5, so I had hoped to get 20 minutes more in, but when my alarm went off, I just got up and dressed and headed into the freezing cold to meet some friends at the gym for a run. Part of me wanted to just curl back into bed under the warm covers for a couple more hours until I had to be ready for work, but I realized I was wide awake, so I might as well be productive and get my sweat on. (Plus I knew if I didn’t go to the gym, I’d feel guilty for being lazy and sloth-like all day, because that’s how I am.)

Anyway, so less than four hours of sleep made for an exhausting day (luckily we didn’t run on the treadmill, just did the elliptical for 45 minutes). This meant I had to try to do what I could to not fall asleep while sitting in front of my computer at work. So after the gym, I walked the dogs in the cold, crisp air to refresh myself, then a relaxing shower. At work I made a cup of black vanilla and cinnamon tea from Trader Joe’s (I’m not much of a coffee drinker).

I love walking my dogs, but chilly, sunny days are the best time to walk to wake me up for the rest of the afternoon.

I love walking my dogs, but chilly, sunny days are the best time to walk to wake me up for the rest of the afternoon.

Some mornings, when I’m the only one in our work area, I’ve been known to sneak in a back bend to wake up (a trick I learned from my Bob Harper Yoga for the Warrior DVD)–it really does work. Unfortunately I didn’t get to do that today.

At lunch I went home and walked the pups around the neighborhood to soak up some sun and get some fresh, chilly air. That really helped! On my way back, I stopped by a gas station for some iced tea for the next couple of meetings. But I was still battling heavy eyelids mid-afternoon.

And even though I was tired, I went to the gym to get in another sweat session (a short 2 mile run on the treadmill with an incline). And now, as I’m writing this, I’m not the least bit tired…what gives?

What do you do to battle sleeplessness and then exhaustion during the work day? I try to not drink much pop or energy drinks (hence the tea).

Leave a Reply

