Elf4Health Challenge – Week 2


Happy Sunday! I hope you’ve all had a good weekend. Mine has been good, minus not getting a run in as planned today. But, the Colts won in the last four seconds of their game against the Detroit Lions, so that makes everything better! 🙂

Tomorrow starts week two of the Elf4Health Challenge. Yesterday’s challenge was to clean out your closet and donate clothes to Goodwill. My husband and I had already cleaned out our closet about a week ago, and we’re donating the clothes to the Bluegrass Farms Chaplaincy, a charity my company works closely with. I always feel better about donating my clothes/coats to charities that could use our stuff instead of Goodwill. Here’s the bag of clothes (it’s a huge trash bag–probably the size of 2-3 regular black trash bags):

Every season M and I clean out our closet of clothes we no longer wear, or shouldn't wear (if they're damaged, they're thrown out). So Saturday's challenge was easy.

Every season M and I clean out our closet of clothes we no longer wear, or shouldn’t wear (if they’re damaged, they’re thrown out). So Saturday’s challenge was easy.

Here’s the line-up for Week 2:

Monday – Do you know how much fiver you eat? Track your fiber intake today!
Tuesday – Have a salad today and make your own dressing! (Will have to look into dressing recipes…any recommendations?)
Wednesday – Pack a healthy snack…and pack enough to share with a co-worker.
Thursday – Let’s life weights! Try a new exercise today.
Friday – Go make-up free today!
Saturday – Make a plan! Plan out your meals for the week and write your workouts down in your planner!

I’m most concerned about Friday and going make-up free at work–I don’t wear a lot of make-up, but at least a little eye liner and eye shadow. This ought to be interesting…

I’m looking forward to Saturday’s challenge–I’ve never really made a meal plan for the week. I attempted once a few weeks ago, actually, but we didn’t stick to it. It’d be nice to have this challenge to make me accountable for the plan. And I usually plan my workouts somewhat early, but definitely make my decisions around lunchtime. A lot of those plans depend on if I’ll have any friends joining me for a run or if my husband ever decides to venture back into the gym.

Tonight my (self-inflicted) challenge is to roast vegetables to bring to a friend’s dinner tonight. I’ve never roasted vegetables, but at the grocery I selected: zucchini, summer squash, red and green peppers, and brussel sprouts. I’ve never had brussel sprouts, but when I see multiple recipes from some of my favorite bloggers using them, it inspires me! M refuses to even try them tonight, so I’m hoping my friends will be receptive! I’ll post more about how they turned out later.

 

One thought on “Elf4Health Challenge – Week 2

  1. Pingback: #elf4health – 1 week down!

Leave a Reply

