A Hodge Podge of a Meal–Zucchini Fritatta


On election night, I wasn’t feeling like going all out for dinner. I knew we had some eggs to use up, as well as zucchini and a few other items. So I made a hodge podge meal. I love fritattas, so I figured, why not?

First I sautéed the leftover zucchini with some frozen Southern potatoes and fresh spinach in a little bit of olive oil. While that was going, I whisked together four eggs with 1/4 cup of skim milk. I poured the eggs into my pan, then covered it for seven minutes to cook. After the eggs were cooked through, I sprinkled a little bit of cheese to melt.

Leftover zucchini, frozen potatoes, and fresh spinach sautéing in olive oil.

I meant to add some deli sliced chicken and mushrooms, but I forgot. The original recipe I used called for zucchini and cubed ham with onion. So basically you can make this any way you want with anything you have on hand.

Yummy and easy!

I served up the wedges with a small salad and some easy pumpkin muffins I made while I was waiting for things to cool. (So easy–1 box of spice cake mix and 1 can of pumpkin, add some water to help the mix and some cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice. Bake in muffin cups at 350 for 15 minutes.)

A simple, healthful meal!

Hodge Podge Fritatta

4 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup non-fat milk
1 medium zucchini
1/2 cup frozen Southern style potatoes
1 handful fresh spinach
1/4 cup low fat shredded cheese mixture (I used colby and monterrey jack cheese)

1.) Saute the veggies (plus whatever you want to add) in a pan with some olive oil.
2.) Whisk together the four eggs and milk, then add to the veggie mixture. Cover and set on medium low for 7 minutes.
3.) Sprinkle cheese on top and re-cover for two more minutes.
4.) Cut into wedges and serve.

2 thoughts on “A Hodge Podge of a Meal–Zucchini Fritatta

Leave a Reply

