Let’s Celebrate! (The Wedding Reception)


(In case you missed the wedding wrap-ups, here they are: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3)

Our main goal for our wedding and reception was that we wanted it to reflect us–we didn’t want the usual cookie-cutter events. That’s why I wrote the entire ceremony, we asked my brother-in-law to be the officiant (so he went online to get ordained), the dogs were our ring bearers, and almost everything was DIY. I didn’t want the usual arch for the “altar,” so I came up with the idea of the picket fence. I chose the music for the ceremony.

So for our reception, we wanted everyone to be able to enjoy themselves. We borrowed a couple of   games from my sister and a co-worker and set up a   area that was well-lit. I also borrowed a big coffee maker so we could have a hot chocolate and hot apple cider bar, which was placed next to our fire pit, which we brought for a s’mores bar. Yes, that’s right…we had a s’mores and hot chocolate/hot apple cider bar.

M chose a local BBQ joint to cater the dinner, which was delicious (yes, I actually did have a little bit of food). We had smoked turkey, pulled pork, beef brisket, macaroni & cheese, baked beans, salad, corn bread, and a bunch of veggies, etc. One of the groomsmen is a home beer brewer (he’s won quite a few contests), so their wedding gift to us was a craft beer bar–watermelon beer, cream beer, and a hibiscus wit. Plus we had some of our favorite beer (Yuengling) and non-alcoholic options.

My cake was made by one of my very good friends from college’s mom. Adrienne (who was one of my bridesmaids) and her mom have been very close to me since college. “Momma D” has always treated me like another daughter. She drove all the way from Massachusetts to bake our cake and cupcakes. We did it simple–red velvet cake with cream cheese filling (the fondant was white and I made a burlap with ribbon ribbon to be pinned around the bottom and my mom made a small bouquet to mimic my bouquet for the topper). The cupcakes were vanilla with buttercream icing, spice cake with cream cheese icing, and chocolate with bourbon buttercream icing. Momma D also made little flags to put on the cupcakes that said different things like “Mr. & Mrs.”, “Joy”, “I do”, and “M&M”.

My yummy cake and cupcakes made by Momma D. I decorated the cupcake stands and made the burlap ribbon for the cake to match the stands.

And for those wondering, when we cut the cake, I  let M feed me the cake first….he was a gentleman. Of course, I had to have some fun, and I fed the cake to him like a lady…then proceeded to smash it in his face (and into his eye…oops).

Our DJ was absolutely awesome–he was so helpful with me planning the wedding, reassuring me that everything will come together, etc. He worked with us in so many ways–I definitely recommend Mike Graves, if you’re in the Lexington area. The music was awesome and it was a lot of fun to see my cousins and their children dancing it up all night.

Not only did I get to dance with my husband and my dad, but also my pups. This was LaMesa taking a turn with mom.

All in all it was a great night–I wish I had had the time to talk more with friends. There were some that I hadn’t seen in years, or that I only get to see every so often. I didn’t even really get to drink much of our beer or enjoy our cupcakes, but I’m OK with that. I danced a lot with my new husband, laughed at friends’ antics on the dance floor, and just tried to take everything in. I danced with friends, danced with my dogs (who got to run around the place after dinner was packed up), and of course danced with my daddy.

I said earlier that my first dance with M was “God Gave Me You” by Blake Shelton. It was romantic (or at least as romantic as M and I can get) and it was nice to be able to catch up and chat a little about things and take it all in that we were indeed married now.

I danced with my dad to “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts, and it’s a time I won’t forget. I tried my hardest not to cry, and I think my dad was, too. After a while, he started asking me a series of questions about things to take both of our minds’ off the matter, which made me laugh. I had to dodge his cowboy hat if I wanted to put my head on his shoulder because he’s that much shorter than me now.

I absolutely loved seeing my parents dance during the Generation Dance and then enjoy their time together. When I saw this pic from my sister, I had tears in my eyes–I love them so much.

I didn’t want the night to end, but, alas, it did. We had great friends stay behind and help us pack up some stuff and clean up the major stuff before we headed to the hotel for the night. The next day we would finish packing up things and tearing everything down in preparation for the rental company to come back and get the tables, chairs, and tent.

All in all, while it was stressful putting together our own wedding, and the months leading up to the wedding was one full of frustration, tears, and concern, it was a very special day and one I hope to remember my entire lifetime. I just wish we could have afforded a videographer to help us remember, but I can’t wait to get all of the photos from the photographers.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Celebrate! (The Wedding Reception)

Leave a Reply

