Finally: Bluegrass 10K Recap


Life hasn’t been the smoothest lately for me, so I took some time off from blogging, etc., to focus on other things.

In the midst of the craziness that has been my life, I finally accomplished a goal more than a year in the making–I ran in the Bluegrass 10K on July 4th. In 2011 I was training for the BG10K when I suffered a stress fracture in my right foot, thus taking me out of training. So of course this year I was a little more careful after training/running in the Kentucky Derby Mini Marathon and the Warrior Dash. I had heard so much positive stuff about the BG10K, so I wanted to run it.

Leading up to the BG10K, I tried to keep my training consistent with what I had been doing for the mini marathon with morning runs ranging from 3-5 miles, with 6-mile runs interspersed when I had the time. I felt confident going into the race…after all, I ran 13.1 miles just a couple of months ago.

Melanie and I after finishing the Bluegrass 10K–hot, sweaty, but happy!

I ran the BG10K with my friend, Melanie, who has run in the BG10K before, so it was nice to have someone who knew the gist of the event. The day was already starting out to be hot and humid, and the first part of the race was through downtown Lexington, which cities always seem to amplify the heat. However, once we got out on the “outskirts” of downtown, the shade from trees cooled the sun. Plus people lined the streets to cheer on the runners, with homeowners turning their sprinklers on the runners. Let me tell you, running through the sprinklers (and even a few of the hydrants were turned on by the firemen) felt WONDERFUL!

Here were the splits:

Mile 1 – 9:41
Mile 2 – 9:36
Mile 3 – 9:53
Mile 4 – 9:07
Mile 5 – 9:54
Mile 6 – 9:10
TOTAL – 6.2 miles in 59:31!

I felt strong the entire race, even with the heat and humidity.

So, of course, the next day my BG10K bib joined my other bibs from 2012 hanging on my cubical wall at work. I’m so proud of what I have accomplished in just the first half of 2012–the AKC National Agility Championships, Kentucky Derby Mini Marathon, Warrior Dash, and the Bluegrass 10K. I’m not sure all else is in store for me this year (besides getting married in October, of course), but I’m excited to see!!

First half of 2012, by the numbers.

Leave a Reply

