Yummy (and Healthy) Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies


I admit it: I am addicted to Pinterest. I’ve been using it to organize ideas for my wedding, as well as new recipe ideas and new workouts. It’s a lot of fun trying new, healthier recipes, so when I have the time, I experiment with my Pinterest recipes.

A couple of weekends ago I tried a new chocolate chip cookie recipe that had chocolate chips (trying to get use to dark chocolate versus milk chocolate), oatmeal (my newest baking obsession), and plain Greek yogurt. I found this recipe thanks to following Chobani on Pinterest, and loved how simple it was! I only did half the recipe due to lack of ingredients (I was running out of whole wheat flour and didn’t have much plain Greek yogurt left).

Here you go:

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
(this recipe makes 5 dozen)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 6 ounces (3/4 cup) plain non fat Greek yogurt (I only had Oikos, but I also love Chobani)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I splash a little extra some times)
  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup flour (original recipe called for all-purpose, I used a mix of whole wheat and AP)
  • 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chunks/chips (I used dark chocolate, but milk or semisweet would work too)

  1. Heat over to 350*F and prepare your cookie sheets (I use parchment paper when I bake)
  2. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter, yogurt, and both sugars with a mixer on medium speed until smooth, then add the eggs and vanilla. Beat until mixed well, then stir in the oats.
  3. In another bowl, stir together the baking soda, salt, and flour. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips/chunks.
  4. (I like to chill my cookie dough in the refrigerator for a little while, so I wrapped the top of the bowl with plastic wrap and let it set for about an hour or so. You can immediately bake, if you’re pressed for time, though.)
  5. Drop the cookie dough by the tablespoon on the cookie sheets (original baker recommended that the smaller the dough drop, the better).
  6. Bake 10-12 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.
  7. Let the the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before removing to cool completely. (I got a nice crispy outside edge on these cookies doing this!)
  8. Enjoy!

Note to self: Must setup a better finished cookie shot…

It was an easy, and yet healthy recipe! The cookies were chewy on the inside, but crispy edges on the outside straight from the oven–can’t get any better than that!

3 thoughts on “Yummy (and Healthy) Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

