Hitting the Pavement


Ever since that day I crossed the finish line in the Kentucky Derby Festival Mini Marathon, the training structure I had was finished as well. The weeks leading up to the mini marathon, I was running three mornings a week before work (usually Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays), with two mornings of yoga (Tuesdays and Fridays), and a long training run on Saturday mornings. Like clockwork. It worked well for me. After work, I’d go to the gym for cross training with weights and corework.

Then life got crazy. You’ve already heard about my work schedule this Spring/Summer/Fall, so I won’t continue to “complain” about that. I’m still trying to get in at least three days of running (Monday and Thursday mornings before work, some times Wednesday after work before agility class, and/or Saturday mornings if I’m home). I promised myself that I would still do long training runs so when it does come time for me to seriously train for my next half marathon, I won’t be very far behind. So far, the longest runs I’ve been able to squeeze out have been six miles.

My first six mile run was a rough one–Memorial Day (May 28), when it was already humid and quite warm at 7 am. I don’t believe I’ve ever run in such hot conditions. It was rough. I didn’t take a water bottle with me because I felt like I could handle six miles without the extra hydration…wrong! I should have taken water with me. Towards the end I walked because I was just drained, and then I pushed myself to finish the six miles.

  • 6.13 miles in 1:00:12 (9:50 avg) (Fastest mile was the second mile at 8:55)

Then this past weekend I ventured out early Saturday morning in hopes of a better run at six miles. It was notably cooler and the humidity wasn’t as high as it was two weeks prior. I handled it a lot better, too, with just a short stint of walking after trudging through some tall grass for a quarter mile.

  •  6.35 miles in 1:00:24 (9:31 avg) (Fastest mile was the second mile at 9:18)

I’ve been running 3-4.5 miles in the mornings before work, which has been great. This week I ran around my work in my old neighborhood twice. The route is one constant, rolling hill–perfect for training for my upcoming races.

  • Monday: 3.79 miles in 35:22 (9:21 avg)
  • Wednesday: 5.15 miles in 48:31 (9:26 avg)

I have to say, I’m amazed at how my times are getting faster, even while running 4-5 miles. I’ve been trying to work on my speed for 5K races, so of course I’ve been trying to push while running 3 miles. But to hold a 4 mile run with a 9:30 pace, that’s awesome for the girl who barely could make a 12-minute mile in grade school!

I have two races coming up that I’m excited about: The Warrior Dash in London, Ky. (not really racing, because I’ll be running with a group of workout buddies, including 60+ year old Tom, so it’s 3.2 miles with 10 obstacles–can’t wait!) and the Bluegrass 10K in Lexington on July 4.( was training for the Bluegrass 10K last Spring when I fractured my foot–at the time, it would have been the longest distance I would have run and I was extremely disappointed that I couldn’t run it. So now I’m ready to tackle the race that is one that everyone talks about around here. That’s why I haven’t really pushed to run past six miles just yet, so I’m hoping after this I can try pushing for 7 and 8 miles.

I’ve been entertaining thoughts of training for another half marathon this Fall, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to manage the rigors of training with my irregular training. I’m also starting to get more into the wedding planning, now that the countdown is less than four months away–there’s a bunch of DIY projects that need to be started and completed in that time.

There’s a half marathon Oct. 20 in Cincinnati that looks enticing, and almost doable. The main concern is that my wedding is Oct. 6, and we’ll be getting back from our honeymoon Oct. 13/14…I seriously doubt that I’ll be doing any training while on our honeymoon, and would like to relax and indulge myself a little.

Would that be setting me up for failure?

Leave a Reply

