The First Saturday of May


Every Spring the excitement builds in the office, until that last week of April, and the first Saturday of May when the “greatest two minutes in sports” occurs and another superstar is crowned. I’m talking about the Kentucky Derby and Thoroughbred racing.

I grew up watching Thoroughbred racing on television whenever they had it on–the Triple Crown (Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes) and the Breeders’ Cup (Thoroughbred racing’s world championships). Nowadays there are two cable television stations that air racing all day long–HRTV and TVG. My dad loves to turn on the racing on the weekends and watch races from Kentucky, California, Canada, and even Japan.

Anyway, I’ll be busy this weekend working at the Kentucky Oaks (Friday) and the Kentucky Derby (Saturday) with the photographers for The Blood-Horse, a weekly Thoroughbred magazine that is part of the media group I work for. I’m very lucky to have the opportunity to spend time in the background of Churchill Downs. I’ve been on the track as Zenyatta zoomed past in her last race in 2010, and when Animal Kingdom came from the pack to surprise the crowd in last year’s Kentucky Derby.

I love the sound of the pound hooves, the quick breaths taken through enlarged nostrils, and the feel of the ground rumbling underneath your feet as you’re holding your breath as millions of dollars of horse-flesh zooms past you. It’s an exciting thrill, and one I wish I could share with everyone close to me.

I’ll try to share some photos after the race with you. But until then, be sure to check out BloodHorse.com for the most up-to-date news and information about the race. Happy betting!!

Leave a Reply

