Making a Comeback: First Long Training Run After 3 Weeks


Guess who’s back….back again…

Yesterday morning I put in my first long training run in three weeks and it went awesome! Because of Nationals and then my (still-undiagnosed) heel injury, I hadn’t run longer than four miles in three weeks (and this past week was my first to run in two). Three weeks ago I ran 11 miles, and I felt since I had some time off, and I wasn’t 100% confident in my injury being healed, I didn’t want to push for 12, so I settled for another 11 mile run.

I also decided to run with a friend that was running in the half marathon, even if she did run at a slower pace than me (she runs a 12-minute mile, while I aim for 9:30-10-minute miles) because she needed the support. Last week she struggled with 10 miles, walking the last 1.5 miles, so she wanted to tackle 10 again and prove to herself she could run the whole 10 miles. So I met her at one location where we dropped off my truck, then drove to our starting point–the trailhead of the Legacy Trail.

I ran the first mile with her, until she came upon a port-a-potty and told me to go ahead without her. So off I went, to conquer the Legacy Trail on my own. I had my headphones with me, but wanted to run music-free as long as I could. I enjoyed the run because it was a different atmosphere, with great weather, and not much of a crowd (of course, when running at 7 am on a Saturday, that shouldn’t be surprising). I also got to see some of Lexington’s “wildlife”–a duck and her ducklings crossing the trail in front of me, a groundhog, a goose protecting her nest, and lots of squirrels. Fun!

There were a couple of hiccups with the run: About half-way, there was an odd twist in the trail Michelle told me I had to take–I got lost and apparently took a shortcut, then turned at the wrong street, but after a quick stop and glance at the map on my phone, I was back on track. Also, because of the shortcut, I got to the end of the trail with three miles still to go, so I had to run back and forth a couple of times (which I hate), and ended up running back to Michelle and was able to run with her for the end of her 10 miles and the end of my 11.25 miles. She was able to run the entire time, and she was so happy and proud of herself. I, on the other hand, did have to walk a short bit around mile 9 because I felt funny, but not bad considering I hadn’t run long in a while.

It was great to run with Michelle because we don’t get to hang out much any more–she’s a mom of two kids (2 and almost-1), wife to a broodmare manager, and nursing student. I don’t know how she’s able to balance everything (including training for a half) and still be sane.

Injury note: What injury?? My heel felt great. My hip, on the other hand, started to bother me a little towards the end, but nothing horrible. I’m happy with my body.

Here are my splits:
Mile 1: 11:34 (running w/Michelle)
Mile 2: 9:52
Mile 3: 9:49
Mile 4: 9:56
Mile 5: 9:56
Mile 6: 9:57 (wow…talk about consistency!)
Mile 7: 9:28
Mile 8: 9:48
Mile 9: 10:11 (walked a short bit)
Mile 10: 9:51
Mile 11: 9:38
Total: 11.25 miles in (1 hour 52 minutes 38 seconds)

Not bad, huh? A little slower than my 11 mile run three weeks ago, but I wasn’t very consistent that week, so I’m happy with this.

One sidenote about after the run: I felt a little nauseous most of the day after my run. I’ve been told it means I’m not hydrated enough, but it makes me wonder how much I have to drink to be hydrated enough? When I woke up I drank a Powerade Zero, followed by some water on my way to meet Michelle. I carried a 16oz water bottle during my run and drank most of it during the run, then drank another bottle of water afterwards. Before the run I eat a slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter, and a banana immediately after my run. I need to get my nutrition and hydration right these next two weeks.

Countdown to the Kentucky Derby Festival Half Marathon: Less than two weeks!!!

One thought on “Making a Comeback: First Long Training Run After 3 Weeks

Leave a Reply

