Wedding Planning: 6 Months To Go


Wedding planning isn't all hearts and candy...

Brides-to-be are used to getting emails from TheKnot.com and other wedding planning websites counting down how many days or months are left until the big W-day. Some may relish each email, but for me, I dread them…a lot.

Friday was the 6-month mark for our wedding…talk about nerves!! We haven’t been the most proactive when it comes to planning our wedding because it just brings up concerns about money, which can often lead to some unhappy times in the house. Money = Stress That’s the way life is for many people. If we don’t talk money, we can’t argue…right?

So what did we have for the wedding at the 6-month mark? The location, photographer, bridal party, and my dress… Nothing else has been set in stone. Not good.

Luckily we were driving up to my parents’ this weekend for the Easter holiday, and just to be with family after the loss of my grandmother (she died March 28, before I left for Reno). Saturday M and I sat down with my mom and dad to talk about what we were going to rent for the ceremony/reception. I had put my dad in charge of talking with rental companies because he rented a tent, etc., for my sister’s wedding and has an idea about measurements, etc. So we sat down and started crunching numbers…we decided on the tent size, what size tables we needed for what, and then whatever else we needed to rent.

M and I had taken a trip to Sam’s Club a while ago and looked at some things that we could purchase there, rather than rent or purchase elsewhere, like using plastic table covers instead of buying linen tablecloths, etc. Our day is going to be laid back and on a farm–we don’t need to be extremely fancy with cotton tablecloths when plastic works just as well, and we’ll have decorations to make the tables look nicely.

While we were doing this, I was working on the guest list and trying to add whatever addresses I didn’t have already from my parents’ side. My parents had asked me to add a couple more family friends to the list, which started worry me about the guest list size. Originally we had hoped to keep the numbers close to 100, and we were at 130. However, my mom explained that the majority of their friends wouldn’t come to an out-of-state wedding, but they’d be upset if they didn’t receive an invitation. So I sat down and put notes by each of those so I could relax a little about the numbers. I know they say that usually 30% of those you invite don’t come, but we had whittled down our list to those we were 80% sure would come.

At M’s grandparents’ Easter dinner, he asked for addresses of family so we could try to finish up the guest list. I think the list is pretty much set, with a few question marks here and there that I’m sure I have a month or two before we have to finalize the list…right? We just need the list 90% set so we have the number for a caterer, table/chair count, etc.

Also at Easter brunch with my family, we asked my brother-in-law to be the officiant for our wedding. We don’t belong to a church in the Lexington area, and we don’t have any other connections for someone to marry us. We could go the route of using a Justice of the Peace or pay almost $300 for a minister from a local church. Either way, that person would be a stranger, and neither of us wanted to have a stranger marry us–it’s not very personal. I love my BIL and he’s been a big part of my family since he and my sister met. He’s also been close with M, giving him advice and hanging out. We wanted my BIL to be a part of our day in some special way, and as our officiant seemed like a perfect fit. Of course he’s already nervous about it, but promised he’d look into it. I figure we can craft together the ceremony in advance so he has time to practice everything and become a little more comfortable with it.

So, now we have an officiant, a guest list, and a better idea about the rental situation. Not bad for a 48-hour turnaround, huh?

3 thoughts on “Wedding Planning: 6 Months To Go

  1. I think you guys are on a great track. Whenever you get stressed out, remember that the most important this is that you’re marrying your best friend. Nothing else matters. Not table cloths, tents or fancy invitations. Just you, M and your family. Let me know if you need any advice putting together your ceremony. We had to do ours from scratch also. I loved it. Our ceremony was incredibly personal. You’re doing great : )

Leave a Reply

