Running Injuries & the Mental Game


So here I am, going on week two of no running. My last run was March 38 and I ran an easy 3.5 miles. My last long training run was March 24 and I ran a hard 11 miles. My first half marathon is April 28…

It took me a while to be comfortable with taking the original five day break from running while I was in Reno, but I still packed my running gear in hopes of squeezing in a quick three mile run at some point (that never happened). But now, with this injury to my tendon at my heel, the short running break is now extended into day nine, which will extend into days 10 and 11. By Monday, I’ll only have 19 days until my half marathon.

I haven’t run 12 miles yet, let alone 13…

I haven’t worked on hills in more than a week…

I haven’t worked on my speed in more than a week…

I just haven’t run in more than a week!!

I’m starting to get antsy, and I’m crossing everything I have in hopes that this injury heals itself over the weekend and that I can start back with easy 3-4 mile runs in the morning. I can only do so much of my Bob Harper and Jillian Michaels yoga DVDs and I can only stay secluded in a spinning studio on gorgeous evenings so much…

So my mental game is struggling, if you can’t tell. Doubts are starting to creep in… Will I be healed in time to even run in the half? How will I run 13.1 miles? There goes my goal of finishing within 2 hours and 10 minutes… There goes the game plan…

How do you battle the mental game? I get into my head a lot when it comes to life, especially with agility and with now with running. It’s not pretty, but it happens. Now I need to work on strengthening my mental game in hopes it’ll be strong enough to erase doubts come raceday.

I’ve worked so hard all winter for this half marathon. I won’t have another opportunity to run in one until next year. I’ve been wanting this for months now…spent a lot of money for the registration, shoes, Gu, gear, etc., to just throw it all away and say, “Well, I was going to run in the Kentucky Derby Half Marathon, but…”

What do you do to strengthen your mental game when forced with an injury? 

Leave a Reply

