11 Miles = Tired Legs & More Doubts


11 & Done!

Saturday was one exhausting day for me, and it all started with my 11 mile run. This would be my last long training run for two weeks because I’m heading to Reno for the AKC National Agility Championships this week and won’t have any time (nor know of any place) for a long training run. I’m hoping to sneak in a 30 minute run here and there while we’re away, but I’m not holding my breath. (I’m a little nervous about running around a city I have no clue about, even with my phone and a friend.)

So, anyway, I mapped out my 11 mile run the day before with trepidation because I had to run it all by myself–not the most inspiring run. Luckily, as I was getting ready to run, a friend texted me asking if she could run 4-5 miles with me. So we decided on a place for her to meet me in my run, and after two miles, there she was! It was really refreshing to have someone to run with at my same pace. We chatted about the upcoming Nationals and other things, which helped make the miles go by easier. We conquered an extreme hill by the horse farms, and then she started to pep talk me for the remainder of my run (she was having a friend pick her up because she had an appointment to get to). It was great to hear someone say, “You’ve got three miles left? You can do that! Piece of cake!!”

Yes, we walked some–after that extreme hill we needed to!–but I’m OK with that. I was rather frustrated with my short walk a little after I hit 8 miles because I was hoping to just run those last three miles. I mean, after all, that’s a 5K right? I should be able to run a full 5K without walking, right? But it was a 5K after one and a half 5Ks…so a 0.10 mile walk is acceptable right? I’m trying to convince myself of that and not be down on myself for walking.

I ran most of the run without my MP3 player, but after my friend left, I had to plug-in and pump it out for the last three miles. I started yelling out the mileage, cheering myself on as I got closer to the end. I even passed a woman running who looked like she was just starting to run and struggling a little–I offered a smile and a wave, said hello and as she passed I said “Looking good! Keep it up!” I don’t know if she heard me, but I’d like to think she did and she appreciated the cheer.

OK, so here are the splits. (Take-home: I really need to work on my consistency with my running times. Any tips would be appreciated.)

Mile 1: 8:48
Mile 2: 9:00
Mile 3: 9:22
Mile 4: 9:20
Mile 5: 10:41 (included the extreme hill and walking afterward)
Mile 6: 10:18
Mile 7: 9:28
Mile 8: 9:40
Mile 9: 10:12 (walk)
Mile 10: 9:58
Mile 11: 9:59
Total: 11 miles in 1 hour 46 minutes 54 seconds (9:46 average)

It amazes me that I am running for longer than 30 minutes now…I never thought I’d be one of those who could run for a couple of hours. However, it is getting very hard trying to fit in these long training runs as my schedule is starting to get busier as the temps are getting warmer. I’ve already been asked if I’ll train for another half marathon after the Derby Half, and right now I can’t honestly say yes or no. I might not be able to train for another one this year (I am getting married in October and have a wedding to plan), but maybe I’ll run in the Bluegrass Half (which is held a month prior to the Derby), or the Indianapolis 500 Mini (held in mid-May)…but we’ll have to see. I am definitely going to start doing 10Ks (first one on the docket is the Bluegrass 10K on July 4 this year.

Right now, I’m just not sure how I’m going to get through 13.1 miles–after I hit 11 miles I wanted to try to push a little longer, but my legs said, “Hellll no!” There was no more moving them forward fast. It was a long walk back to the gym where I was meeting M. I was still sore on Sunday. The doubts are flowing in my mind, “If I struggle at 11 miles, how can I push through to 13.1!?”

One thought on “11 Miles = Tired Legs & More Doubts

Leave a Reply

