Yummy Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf


Lately I’ve been collecting a lot of different (healthy) recipes to try for dinner because I find that we tend to get in a rut (and Matt gets tired of eating chicken all the time). So I’ve become addicted with Pinterest–are you on it? Oh man, can a girl get in trouble on that site!

Last night I tried two new recipes for a couple of friends, and I’m happy to say it was a success! (I love when I can try new recipes for friends that are not only tasty, but also healthy for them, and most of the time they don’t know it.)

The first recipe is one I found thanks to one of my favorite blogs, Fitting It All In. Clare has been participating in Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Challenge, so I’ve been living vicariously through her as she performs new workouts and puts together some healthy meals. A while ago she posted Jamie’s recipe for “Monster Meatloaf” and I thought I just had to try it, only with a few changes.

The recipe calls for three pounds of ground turkey, but I only wanted to use one package (1.25 lbs) last night, so I halved-everything the recipe called for. Also, I substituted the package of chopped onions and peppers for just one chopped green bell pepper and a can (didn’t have fresh available) of sliced mushrooms, which I sautéed together with the minced garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper. I thought it was odd to add soy sauce, so I just added a splash along with the chicken broth and tomato paste.

And just for a little extra flavor, I added some low-fat shredded cheese (not even a 1/4 cup, more like a couple of pinches) to the meat mixture.

I love how colorful this turned out! I'm not a big ketchup fan, so I just added a small squirt on top.

The result was apparently an irresistible main course that paired well with parmesan roasted red potatoes (recipe to come later) and a fresh greens salad! I wish I had taken a photo of my whole plate (it was so pretty and colorful), but I was so hungry I dug in before I even thought about it! Between the four of us, we basically cleaned off the meatloaf (save for one small corner, which I get to have for lunch today), all of the salad, and most of the potatoes (again, leftovers for my lunch today).

Of course, when I unveiled where I found the recipe, Matt’s reaction was, “Does this mean I’m going to have big muscles like a body builder?” Haha, nice one, honey.

6 thoughts on “Yummy Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Week 1, Day 1 « Jen's adventures!

Leave a Reply

