This Week’s Workouts (1/30-2/3)


I’ve decided I need to keep a better tally of my weekly workouts, so what better way than posting them on here?

Here’s how the week of Jan. 30 – Feb. 3 went down:

Monday, Jan. 30: Gorgeous day, so I ran outside around the local park with my friend Camille. (4 miles/40 min 26 seconds). Then Matt and I walked the dogs until it got dark (1.3 mi/25 min 3 seconds)

Some of my random mileage from throughout the week, via RunKeeper.

Tuesday, Jan. 31: Started the day off with a 30 minute yoga workout with the Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD (Workout Level 2)–Level 2 is a lot harder than Level 1, but not as much stretching (which I’ve determined I need more of.
After work I hit up the gym for six minutes on the stairmill followed by some circuit training with weights–mostly upper body, but I did a few lower body things as well (such as side lunges and a kettlebell routine with squats), then I took some extra time to stretch.

Wednesday, Feb. 1: Met with the agility gals at the gym at 5:30 am, ran 3 miles in 30 minutes on the treadmill (1.5 incline) and then did 15 minutes on the elliptical for cooldown/more time to chat.
After work Matt and I took the dogs for a walk around the park for 2.5 miles (not sure exactly how long, I left my iPhone at home) to soak up the gorgeous “winter” day (if you can call mid-50s winter weather!).

Thursday, Feb. 2: Another morning yoga session with Jillian Michaels via her DVD (Level 2 once again, only this time I feel I’ve improved a little). The evening’s activity consisted of a 1.69 mile walk with the dogs and a friend and her dogs around a different park for 58 minutes (she brought along her new puppy, so we had some slow goings at times).

Friday, Feb. 3: I got to run outside this morning with another agility buddy–39 degrees is pretty manageable without much wind! We only ended up going about 3.62 miles in 36 minutes (including a 0.3 mile walk warmup) with some walking interspersed due to my stomach not feeling well. 😦 I was totally bummed because I was using this morning’s run as my “long run” for Week 1 of my half-marathon training and wanted to get in at least 4 miles.

Interspersed throughout the week were my daily walks with the dogs at lunchtime, which are usually about 0.75 miles (we take the short loop around our neighborhood). Those have been very pleasant with the unusual warm winter weather we’ve been having lately.

I’m not sure if I’ll get in any running or workouts this weekend–we’re traveling to my parents’ farm to partake in Super Bowl festivities that has overtaken Indianapolis. But, I have packed some warm running gear (supposed to be chilly back home) and my running shoes, just in case!

So I’m hoping to increase my mileage next week and get a for-real “long run” in next weekend for my training. I also would like to try to find a yoga DVD, or even a free video I can watch on my laptop, that allows for more stretching for runners, instead of just the body-weight conditioning yoga of the Jillian Michaels DVD. Any recommendations?

How were your workouts this week?


Leave a Reply

