More Than Dog Training


As I continue to get this blog going, my goal is to share a little bit about myself in each introductory blog post, to give you an idea of who I am, where I’ve come from, and my goals for the future in just about every aspect of my life.

Dally competing in Dec. 2011

For the past few years, I have participated in what some might call an “unconventional sport”–dog agility. I grew up with dogs all my life, but never really thought they’d be a big part of my life like they are now. I was always into riding and competing with my horses (more on this later), but when I moved to Lexington and still didn’t have my horses with me, my competitive drive and need to train something was focused on my Pembroke Welsh Corgi, Dally. I got Dally the Fall after I graduated college and she travelled the country with me from internship to jobs, from Texas, Oklahoma, and now Kentucky. She’s been my best buddy–I can’t help but smile every time I see her face.

LaMesa & I preparing for her run in Dec. 2011

Then in January 2010, I added on to the family with LaMesa, a Swedish Vallhund. She’s been a trip! She has a boundless amount of energy and can always make me laugh as well. She’s totally different from Dally in her attitude and athleticism, but she hasn’t been easy to train. It’s been a big education for me the past year of training with her, and we’ve done well so far.

We compete in American Kennel Club (AKC) and Canine Performance Events (CPE) events. Dally and I even qualified for the 2012 AKC National Agility Championships, but they’re being held in Reno in March, and it’s not possible for us to travel that far at this time. So, we’re aiming to qualify for Nationals in 2013, which will be held in Tulsa, Okla., which I can definitely handle!

So if I happen to mention agility on this blog, this is what I mean. I have a separate blog following the training and trials of Dally and LaMesa. I’m not the best at keeping it up to date, but I try my best. Please feel free to follow that blog as well: Agility on Stumps

Leave a Reply

