Holiday Cookies


It’s Christmas Eve, which means a day of preparations for the big day–Christmas Day. For some it’s another day spent with family or travelling, but for me and my family it means cleaning, last-minute wrapping (or shopping in Matt’s case), and baking.

I love to bake. I used to bake a lot when I lived at home, but ever since I’ve grown up and moved out on my own, I’ve cut back a lot. I’ve done so because I’m of the thought that if I bake it, I must eat it. And now that I’m trying to eat better, and somehow get my fiance to eat better, I just try not to tempt either of us. But on the holidays? You can’t run from temptation fast enough.

So has been my life with food. I will be the first to admit that I have absolutely no willpower when it comes to food. It’s not like I grew up with my parents spoon-feeding me sugar, but when you grow up on a farm where you come in late after the chores are done, you eat late. Now, living on my own, I try to have dinner made and eaten around 7:30. I also try to eat 4-5 meals a day–breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch, dinner (some times a snack before I workout after work). I try my best to have round meals with protein, veggies, fruits, and whole grain carbs.

This summer I started tracking everything that I ate with the MyFitnessPal app on my phone. It is a great tool for anyone who is trying to obtain any fitness goal. I’ve even turned on a few friends and family into using it. It opened my eyes into knowing exactly what calories I was putting in me, as well as what I was burning out. You don’t have to have a smart phone, you can go on the website and use it as well.

Eating well will always be a struggle for me. I’ll have periods of healthy eating, then I binge. Yes, I’m a binge eater. I believe it’s because of my lack of will power. I’ve read where nutritionists say it’s best to not deprive yourself of your favorite things because that’s where you get yourself into trouble. So I try to allow just a little bit of treats every now and then. But some times I just can’t help myself. And the more I start running, the more ravenous I seem to be. Any tips on healthy eating (on a budget) are always appreciated. When I try some recipes that pass my fiance’s picky palate, and are healthy, I plan to share them with you.

Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Holiday Cookies

Leave a Reply

