Sweating Out a Cold


MidSummer Night's Run 2011--Not the best running photo of me, but it works!

Wednesday I was hit hard with a cold. It’s been a while since I’ve been sick, but it hit me like a ton of bricks. I woke up with a bit of a sore throat, but decided to still participate in this holiday run in downtown Lexington that I was invited to. It was a lot of fun–a group of runners known as the “Todds Road Stumblers” met on campus of the University of Kentucky, ran a little more than two miles downtown and sang carols at the Christmas tree at Triangle Park (in front of Rupp Arena), then ran the two miles back to where we parked. My throat started to hurt more, but I pushed through to run 4.28 miles in 38:27, with rain falling during the last mile.

I didn’t workout at all on Thursday due to my cold, but this morning I woke up with resolution to at least get in an elliptical workout to try to sweat out the cold. And boy was I sweating! I worked out for 30 minutes for 2.75 miles and got in a few crunches before calling it a day. After a hot shower, I’m starting to feel like myself again.

Which brings me to filling you in on my workout history. I didn’t used to be so addicted to working out. I played volleyball in high school for a couple of years, and threw shot put and discus one year on the track team, but I never loved to run or workout a bunch. I was naturally strong, for a girl–which comes naturally when you live on a horse farm. I didn’t start to love the gym until college when I’d workout for a couple of hours three times a week with a friend. My senior year I discovered kickboxing (real kickboxing, mind you) and became addicted to intense workouts and started caring about my health and looks.

I started running when I lived in Amarillo, Texas, for six months. It became something that I loved to do to clear my mind and shake off the stiffness from sitting at a desk all day. I ran my first 5K in 2009 at the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure, and I’ve since run four others. My goal for 2011 was to run a 10K, but that was derailed due to a stress fracture in my foot in the Spring because of training for the longer distances and dog agility. Now my goal is to complete a half-marathon Spring 2012 in the Kentucky Derby Festival Half-Marathon. A big leap from 5K runner to half-marathoner I know, but the time felt right, and I needed something to push myself to keep going this winter.

The farthest I’ve run up until now is 5 miles, and I try to run 3-4 miles three times a week, thanks to my morning treadmill runs with friends at 5:30. I’ll start seriously training for the half in January, with my long runs during the weekends, when I can run outside and not on the treadmill.

So any tips you can share to bump up my mileage safely, I’d totally take them!

Leave a Reply

