Protein Smoothie with Coconut Water


About a month ago I received a fun package in the mail from Zola, as part of my affiliation with Fit Approach and the Sweat Pink Ambassadors. Inside it had two cans of  coconut water (one with pulp and one without) and a bottle of acai juice. Oh, and some fun neon green sunglasses, which LaMesa had to try on:

w00t!! Coconut water and acai juice! Whatever shall I make with it??

LaMesa rocking the neon green Zola shades.

LaMesa rocking the neon green Zola shades.

Anyway, I wasn’t too sure what to do with the contents, but the first thing that came to mind was a protein smoothie. Usually I don’t keep tabs one what all I put in my smoothies–it’s usually a toss-in-as-I-go type of affair, but after sharing a pic of this smoothie on my Instagram, I was asked for the recipe, so here it goes:

Peach & Coconut Protein Smoothie

1 Handful of fresh spinach leaves
Frozen peaches (however many you’d like)
Half a frozen banana
1 Heaping tablespoon full of plain Greek yogurt (I like Oikos, but it’s whatever you’d prefer)
1 scoop ProComplete One V-Core Vanilla Bean Protein powder
1/4 cup Zola Coconut Water
1 Packet Hodgeson Mill Milled Flax Seed
Sprinkle of chia seeds

  1. Combine everything but the chia seeds in a blender. Add as much or as little Zola coconut water as you’d like. (Some like a thicker smoothie that they actually eat with a spoon, or a thinner smoothie to drink while on the road.)
  2. Pour the smoothie into the container of choice.
  3. Sprinkle some chia seeds on top.
  4. Enjoy!

photo (3)

I made my smoothie a little thicker (I added a lot of peaches and spinach) because I wanted to enjoy it in a big mug and spoon. I don’t know what it is about eating a smoothie out of a bowl/big mug some times, but it’s relaxing and I feel like I stay fuller longer. Could just be a mind thing.

I’ve made a protein smoothie using the Zola coconut water with a frozen berry mix (raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries), spinach, and plain Greek yogurt that M enjoyed after his first CrossFit class.

I love using the coconut water because it’s so versatile and doesn’t flavor your smoothie too much. Plus, coconut water helps with hydration, which is perfect for summer time and recovering from workouts.

I drank the acai juice on its own throughout the week, as a little pick-me-up with my lunches. It had a consistency an flavor that takes a little getting used to, but it was still pretty good. I’d never had plain acai juice before, so this was nice to get to experience.

What’s your favorite summer time post-workout smoothie recipe? (I’m always looking for new combinations.)

**Note, I was provided the samples for free from Zola, but all views are my own.

5 thoughts on “Protein Smoothie with Coconut Water

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites – Shake that Smoothie | Fit Swiss Chick

  2. Pingback: The Get Your Protein Energy Smoothie HealthyWeightLossSmoothies.Com

  3. Pingback: The Get Your Protein Energy Smoothie | EatingHealthyOnline.Net

  4. Pingback: The Get Your Protein Energy Smoothie

  5. Pingback: The Get Your Protein Energy Smoothie :: Weight For Me

Leave a Reply

